top of page

Singing together

As I was deciding what to write for my first blog, I found this, something I wrote two years ago. It reminded me to continue writing about special moments in my life so I can always go back and remember them. Just as I was working on this, my son read it and remembered happily that moment and even shared some stuff I did not even remember. So as we start the new year, I wish for you that you are mindful about what is really important in your life.

I just got back from having dinner with my family, my wife and our three kids, our 16-year-old twin girls and our youngest son who is 11.

I had just come back from a trip to Chile, and I was away for 6 days, and I wanted to go out with the family, just to spend time together and some fun, even though next day was thanksgiving and we would be all together.

We went out to dinner, and had a great time together, laughing, making fun of each other. I really love my family and the sense of humor that individually and as a group we posses.

On our way back home, trying to decide if we should do something else, like drive around Old San Juan, one of my daughters starts playing music out of her phone through the car"s speakers. When all of the sudden, she plays, “Don’t’ stop believing” from Journey, and we all started singing the entire song, except my son who had no idea about it. What fun we had.

Then a couple of songs later, my son says he wants to play a song, and we start listening to “We are the Champions” by Queen, and the entire car starts singing. We did not want to get home. I started driving around our neighborhood until it was time to get home.

I write this, because life is full of these moments and that is what makes life meaningful and happy but sometimes we do not appreciate it or we take it for granted. I was ecstatic with my entire family how we all came together and had fun in a simple outing eating and singing in the car.

That made me realize once again, that having a great time with your family is not about expensive gifts or special places or anything extraordinary. It is about enjoying those moments that make life special.

Do not let life pass you by. Enjoy this moment, this instant; you will not regret it later. Your life will be full with love and happiness from the single things life has to offer us, and it could be something as simple as the entire family singing in the car.

Tags:

Jofi Baldrich  

Who am I and why do I write a blog, press below to find out

Search By Tags
bottom of page